London Marathon

London Marathon

Well I am not going to lie I did feel blue on receiving my London Marathon ballot application rejection last week. In fact I felt the Smurf was quite mocking, I wasn’t a fan as a kid and certainly I am not now, I would have much preferred a Womble.

Seeing several friends getting ballot places made me realise how much I had set my heart on running this event. I know there are loads of great marathons out there but having been along to watch the London Marathon it clearly has a special atmosphere.

I live in London, studied in Greenwich and I am originally from the outskirts of south east London. So the streets the London marathon explores are places I have grown up around.

However slowly over the past couple of days I have started to feel less despondent. I been lucky to spend time with some great friends and family and spoken to other friends online and they have encouraged me to apply for a charity place.

My friends and family are the reason I have had my heart set on doing the London Marathon. I remember the huge lift seeing friends and family gave me when I struggled around my Royal Parks half marathon 3 years ago. So I think that is what I am going to do, I am going to try and get a charity place. My Dad died from Motor Neurone Disease in 2011 and running the London Marathon in front of friends and family and fundraising for that charity is something I am sure he would have been proud of me for doing.

Training in the last week has been varied and enjoyable. I have started preparing for the Capital Runners Bushy Park 10k on the 20th October. I am looking at definitely ducking under the 48 minute mark and I hopeful of perhaps ducking under 46 minutes.

My recent 10k runs have have seen me exploring the beautiful Walthamstow and Hackney Marshes. Discovering new parts of your local area has to be one of my favourite things about running. I would love to hear about the most amazing places you have discovered whilst running, please leave comments or tweet me.

2 thoughts on “London Marathon

  1. Fingers crossed you get a charity place!
    I’m from the Walthamstow area and I hear great things about Hackney Marshes all the time but I would have to drive to get there so I haven’t tried it out yet, luckily part of Epping Forest starts at the top of my road!

    • Epping Forest is such a beautiful spot, we went for a walk around there on my friends birthday last year. Although the pub at the top wasn’t very veggie friendly, so I had a rather sad looking roast dinner. Hackney Marshes, is worth checking out but I find running in different places always inspires me.

Leave a Reply

