What a vegan athlete eats

Fresh organic vegetables
I have been writing this blog for about 6 weeks now and I just wanted to say thanks for everyone who taken the time to read my blog, especially those who have gotten in touch with me. I have found connecting with other runners really inspirational and it has helped inspire me to train harder. The online running community is proving a fantastic place full of positive people living interesting lives.

So last week I asked a friend of mine what he thought of the blog and he said he liked it but I haven’t talked about food much. Which I realise I haven’t really. So I thought I would make this blog about what I am eating currently. I will give a quick rundown on a typical running day.

Breakfast

I am on fruit only breakfasts 6 out of 7 days a week with the occasional Sunday treat of pancakes or a cooked breakfast. I am generally eating my breakfast fruit in smoothie form to save time and to make it easier to consume a large quantity of fruit in one go. I like to base my smoothies around bananas, I have always been a big fan of them and they provide a great source of carbohydrates and good sugars to  power my running.

Below are a couple of favourite smoothies to make (I just use a electric hand blender)

Banana and spinach

  • 2 bananas
  • 200 ml of water
  • A handful of spinach

Banana and chocolate

  • 2 bananas
  • 200 ml or organic soya milk or your favourite milk of choice
  • A teaspoon of cocoa powder

Pineapple and apple

  • One whole pineapple
  • 2 apples
  • 100 ml of water

Pineapple and apple

Lunchtime

About a year ago I stopped buying packaged bread from supermarkets, I had become interested in the real bread movement and I am lucky enough to live in an area where artisan bakeries are easy to come by. Packaged bread which we woof down in the UK contains up to 17 chemicals most which I have no idea what they are. This grossed me out. So now when I eat bread it normally is of the sourdough variety, I often get bread from my local bakery and recently a fellow runner Lauren has started baking sourdough bread and selling it to her friends.

However I have shifted away from my sandwich a day lunches, I occasional will have a real bread sandwich but most of the time I opt for a salad or leftovers from the night before. If I do make a salad I will usually use a grain like bulgar wheat, quinoa or brown rice. I have to say a huge bowl of salad with lots of weird and wonderful tomatoes from my local farmers market is the perfect treat.

Dinner 

Now this is really a varied affair, since embarking on my journey to a meat free life I have become really interested in cooking. I draw influences from a whole range of different cultures when I create my food. Living in London means you’re constantly exposed to new and exciting food and I am lucky enough to have many friends who are great cooks and inspire me to create new and exciting dishes consistently.

Tempura

To give you a snapshot these are my dinners over the past 7 days:

Monday

Bulgar wheat pilaf with peppers

Tuesday

Leftover pilaf, cucumber chunks in hummus, roasted squash, peppers and salad

Wednesday

Polish food, gherkins, vegan homemade potato gnocchi, mushrooms and onions

Thursday

Gobi aloo cauliflower, potato tomato curry

Friday

Green runner bean balti curry

Saturday

Mix of Japanese food including sushi, glass noodles with sweet potato, spring rolls, miso

Sunday

Tempured courgettes, courgette flowers, carrot salad with ginger and garlic, red cabbage salad, quinoa with peppers

So this is a snapshot of what I eat, I am lucky to live in an area with a great farmers market and a wide range of organic stores where I am able to get affordable fresh produce daily. I know that this isn’t as easy for everyone especially those living in the suburbs in the UK. If you’re one of those people you should check out the possibility of getting a vegetable box delivered from your local farm.

Finally I would love to hear what other vegan/vegetarian runners eat whilst training? Please drop me a tweet or even better comment on this blog.

Thanks for reading,

Damien

12 thoughts on “What a vegan athlete eats

  1. I tend to eat a lot of beans and legumes – one favorite is lentil bolognese with wholemeal pasta. So good, and makes me feel satisfied after a big run.

    • I have just read Rick Roll’s book Finding Ultra he is a big fan of beans and legumes as some of his protein sources. I had wholemeal pasta tonight with golden beetroot which was delicious.

  2. I am a vegetarian runner, but I try to eat vegan as often as I can. I have quite a few recipes on my blog, but have you been to the site nomeatathlete.com? His blog if FULL of great advice for vegan athletes and tons of recipes!

    • Your blog looks great. I am now following 🙂 I have been to his nomeatathlete.com it is a great resource. I recently read Scott Jurek’s book Eat and Run which also has some great recipes for runners. I made the nori seaweed, sushi and miso rice balls recently they were tasty and so filling.

    • I loved your blog on your first marathon. So impressed with your negative splits, this is something I am still mastering. I am running a 10k at the weekend and I am going to try extremely hard not too go out too fast and burn out half way around.

  3. I’m not a vegan (not even vegetarian!) but I love looking at what other people eat to try and get meal ideas, and some of your meals look delicious!
    I never knew that about packaged bread either, I don’t really eat bread anyway but if I did I always have this fantasy about living in a cottage with a thatched roof by the river and baking my own bread.

  4. Next time you are in the supermarket take a look at the bread ingredients it really is enough to turn your stomach. Bread should have flour, yeast, salt, water and a tiny bit of oil. The Real Bread campaign is a great resource to learn more. http://www.sustainweb.org/realbread/

    I also have a underused food blog where I have a couple of recipes, there are a couple on there from when I was still vegetarian before going vegan which you may enjoy. http://tastyveguk.wordpress.com

    I actually baked some bread a few weeks ago it was a giant loaf but really tasty, you should try it sometime.

  5. I’m only a newbie to vegan running, but I love falafel, and chickpea products. Three bean chilli is also a staple.

    • I also love making falafel, you have me craving it now. I made nice tortilla wraps yesterday after my 10K race. I went to buy some in the shop but was horrified by all the chemicals in them and couldn’t bring myself to eat them. Mine turned out really well and were really simple just a bit of white flour, salt, water and olive oil. I checked out your blog and subscribed to updates, it sounds like your Sheffield 10k was a challenge, I struggled a bit on the wet ground yesterday as well.

  6. I love seeing what other people eat. I am vegetarian but I do eat a lot of vegan meals. I find a salad for lunch much more filling than a sandwich- at the moment my favourite lunch is a mix of puy lentils, beetroot, tomatoes, spinach, maybe some figs, balsamic vinegar, avocado, and sometimes topped with a little hummus.
    I did go through a phase of making my own sourdough bread, but then I went away for a bit and the starter died (well went green and very gross)- I have since read that you can keep it dormant in the fridge and get it out the day before, so I might try that as then when I go away I can leave it in the fridge and not worry about it.

Leave a Reply

