Blown away nearly 10K

ImageSo today we’re expecting a huge storm here in the UK and the media are drawing comparisons with the storm of 1987 that caused huge damage across the country. I was only 3 in 1987, so I can’t really remember the storm but I do remember going to my playgroup and a huge oak tree covering the path we used to walk up. Fingers crossed we don’t lose as many beautiful trees tonight.

But with the stormy and frankly quite grim weather just around the corner, I thought I would get out there this morning and bank some miles. Again I managed to get my layering combination all wrong choosing to wear my winter over layer jacket. I set off fairly quickly but by 18 minutes I was pissed off. I was overheated, I didn’t want to take the jacket off as wearing it around my waist would annoy me. I was breathing heavier than usual, I just wanted to cut my run short and come home. I so nearly stopped but I remember thinking, you don’t do that these days you’re in the best shape you have been in at least 7 years just get on with it.

So I ditched the jacket and suddenly things seemed better my body cooled down and I hit a lovely rhythm. I passed loads of runners today and everyone of them was smiling. Once I got over my little internal fit I was smiling too.

Running in the strong winds was really challenging but kind of fun. At one point I distinctly remember getting blown sideways. I was thinking well it is good conditioning. I know this probably means I have stepped into the territory of crazy runner but I am actually pretty comfortable with this.

Todays run was just under 6 miles and I recorded a decent average pace similar to that of my 10K race at Bushy Park last Sunday. My finish was strong and I felt I had a bit in the tank. I used the Compeed blister plaster today and it did a good job. It was only at the end I started to feel any pain from the blister. In total I have ran 15 miles this week my half marathon in only 5 weeks away now so I need to start throwing in some longer runs which will be a challenge.

Here are my splits from todays run:

Image

Complete training run:

Image

Running is definitely infectious. My friend Sean has just moved to Berlin and I lent him ‘Born to Run’ a few weeks ago. I was delighted earlier this week to receive a message from him saying he ran 10k in the morning and had a vegan lunch. It is pretty sad but my running has definitely inspired some of my good friends to start running again. It is a sad fact of life that as we get older our bodies metabolism slows down and we need to take better care of ourselves. I am delighted that lots of my friends are starting to rediscover exercising regularly as they did in the past.

On this note I am running the Greenwich 10K with two of my oldest friends from school John and Pete on 10th November. I am really looking forward to us all doing this together, our lives have gone in different directions but I care deeply about them both and I am excited we are going to be exercising together and I am sure we will grab a few well deserved pints afterwards.

Did you go running in the wind today? If so, how was it? Do you have any tips for running in windy conditions? Please leave comments and let me know how your training has been this week.

6 thoughts on “Blown away nearly 10K

  1. Thanks for the mention pal, looking forward to it too. 👍 P.S. I do read your blogs… I suscribed to them haha

    • Glad you read them mate. It should be fun, I need to get some hill training in before then and we should research where we get a good roast afterwards.

  2. About to brave the windy conditions up in the midlands! Good split times. Born to run is definitely an inspirational book too.

    • Thanks, I was happy with the splits. Born to Run is a brilliant book but now I constantly am comparing every other running book to it which isn’t really fair.

  3. Good title! I thought the weather would be atricious on Monday so I went on a run (10K) early on Sunday morning instead. It was very windy, so very tough on the way back as I was running uphill and into the wind! I just had to think that I would be home soon. I tried to run close to the fence/ trees so they would shelter me a bit from the wind, but not always possible. I also wished I had taken gloves as although it was mild the wind was making my hands very cold.
    Yesterday I walked to the post office (a couple of miles) and the sun stayed out for me which was very lucky!

  4. Hi Maria. I don’t envy you having to run uphill in the wind. I find layering the ultimate challenge at the moment. I am glad the weather has calmed down a bit now although I got soaked this morning.

Leave a Reply

