The Runners

Matan Rochlitz and Ivo Gormley on their filming equipment

Matan Rochlitz and Ivo Gormley on their filming equipment

What do you think about whilst you are running?

I am sure many of you reading this are honestly not sure. Yesterday, I was lucky enough to be invited to a screening of a new short film called ‘The Runners‘. The film is made by social entrepreneur and GoodGym founder Ivo Gormley who I have been lucky to get to know this year and his friend Matan.

To create the film over the course of a year they cycled around Victoria Park in London dragging a trailer with a camera and one of them onboard. They proceeded to ask runners a whole variety of questions about their lives, why they run and what they are thinking about?

Many of us do the majority of our running on our own, once you start cranking up the milage that makes for a lot of time spent in our heads. For me I often think about the people I haven’t spoken to in a long while and start making lists in my head about what I need to do. Sometimes I just get lost in the beauty of my surroundings and I honestly don’t think about anything else. Sometimes I play out my problems in my head and when I get home I just know what I need to do. For me running is an insight into an area of my subconscious otherwise inaccessible for me. All the noise stops, whether the wind is blowing or the rain is pouring it doesn’t matter, I can just chill.

The film really made for a revealing insight into the minds of runners. Afterwards the 150 strong were treated to q&a with Greg one of the runners in the film Martin Yelling former triathlete and Marathon Talk podcast host and ‘Run Like a Girl’ author Alexandra Heminsley and the filmmakers Ivo and Matan.

The film is only 10 minutes long and free to watch. It features today on the Guardian’s running blog. Watch it I promise you will enjoy it. And perhaps the next time you lace up you will think a little bit more about what is going on in your head.

2 thoughts on “The Runners

  1. Thanks for posting this video. Being in America I probably would never have stumbled on it. I particularly like the openness that running seemed to afford. If you were to stop people on the street and ask them the same questions you might never have gotten the open and honest responses that occurred while running.

    • I find running just brilliant for open conversations, when you’re pushing your body by running I find you choose words which count. I am glad you liked the film and I am sure if you stopped people on the street when they weren’t running you would have got different answers.

Leave a Reply

