The road to Edinburgh begins

Image

I can’t move my legs, can’t feel my feet and I just want to eat. All things going to plan in 15 weeks I will be most likely repeating words to this effect as I will have ran the Edinburgh marathon aged 29 and 9 months.

Week 1 of my training has seen me manage to run 21.20 miles with relative ease. Making new Spotify playlists has definitely helped make the runs go by quickly. I am trying to focus on the strong winds here in the UK as a good thing. How has everyone else found training in these conditions?

So what did my training look like this week?

Marathon training (week 1 of 16)

  • Monday: Spinning class with Kate at London Fields Fitness.
  • Tuesday: 5.1 miles with GoodGym he helped the amazing Hackney Pirates build their ship of adventures
  • Wednesday: 5.0 miles intervals
  • Thursday: Rest
  • Friday: Personal Training with Ade followed by 3 miles running
  • Saturday: Rest
  • Sunday: 8.2 miles the weeks long run.
  • Total: 21.20 miles

On Saturday I am running a 10k race in Finsbury Park; the race is raising money for Action Duchenne.

Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy is a terrible genetic muscle wasting disease with no cure which affects primarily young men. Reading about this race I felt I really had to enter as my Dad died from another muscle wasting disease called Motor Neurone Disease. As I run around Finsbury Park next Saturday my thoughts will turn to him and all the other runners who have lost loved ones to cruel diseases.

Image

Dad and me in Greece July 2010, he sadly passed away just 8 months later.

2 thoughts on “The road to Edinburgh begins

  1. I’ve found the winds interesting to say the least! There was one day when I was running down a steep hill and despite the incline I was running again a resistance because of the high winds. But at least we’ve not had snow like the yanks!

  2. Nice one Damien – great to read that and reminds me I need to get my trainers on a little more regularly too 🙂

Leave a Reply

