Long miles with a great friend

Image

Running with friends is the best! Ok, not quite as good as the post run carb fest I usually embark on but it comes in a mighty close second place.

This Saturday marathon training got real for Damien. I had to run for 1:20 hour and I was dreading it. I had asked my amazing friend Joe Phillips to come along with me and although he plays football goes to the gym and has ran some impressive half marathons in the past; he hadn’t ran over 10k in nearly 18 months. So to be honest I wasn’t sure he would make it. But on Saturday morning the sun was shining and Joe messaged me to say he was coming for the run.

We ran to Walthamstow Marsh, along the lea valley river, Hackney Marsh, onto Regents Canal, through Victoria Park, dragged ourselves through London Fields where all our discussions turned to what we were going to eat when we got in and finally made it back to mine with 10 miles in the bag in 1:28.15

Joe was a total hero and a true friend to not moan about my 8 minute over calculation but hey, what is a mile between friends?

Afterwards we embarked on eating some delicious organic bananas before heading to the Vegan cafe the Black Cat to thoroughly carb up and enjoy ourselves.

I am lucky to have a few lovely friends who run with me and hopefully this will be the first of many amazing runs with Joe.

Leave a Reply

