So I am alive but kinda injured

Image

Well… I am not dead or crippled after the trauma of my Edinburgh marathon. But I am injured enough that I have been instructed to not run by the physio.

So what is wrong with me? The list goes something like this:

1) Incredibly tight IT bands both sides

2) Very tight hamstrings both sides (right slightly worse than left)

3) Lack of hip flexibility both sides

4) A moderate case of patello-femoral syndrome my knee not tracking properly over my femur (thigh bone)

This means from last week 6-8 weeks before I can run again.

So as you can probably tell by my tone, I am slightly frustrated, after seeing everyone who ran Run Hackney with their shiny medals, I felt the need to rant and put this down on virtual paper, I hope you don’t mind.

The good news is I can swim and cycle, so I am trying to see this as an opportunity to improve my all round strength and set myself up for completing some triathlons this Winter.

The past week has seen me cycle 40 miles to Richmond Park which was so beautiful and a cyclists paradise. This weekend four of us cycled 25 miles to a pick your own fruit farm in Enfield and came alway with a bounty of delicious fruit and veggies.

That being said sometimes running is a cruel mistress, she teases you with tantalising delights only to pull them away at the last moment. For me this means the most beautiful running months of the year are lost, I hope to come back and run some good 5K and 10K times in late August/September and hopefully squeeze in a half marathon and a couple of Sprint distance triathlons before Winter arrives. In the meantime if you want to come cycling with me let me know.

And a lastly a massive congratulations to my friends who completed the Hackney Half today in the sweltering heat. Especially my friend Clare Foster who recorded a stunning 1:36. Also a massive well done to Helen Nickols, Richard Foster, Phillip Oliver and Jasmine Morris and everyone from GoodGym who made it round in the scorching heat.

Damien

4 thoughts on “So I am alive but kinda injured

  1. That is a shame about your list of injuries, but at least with some rest you will be back running again, and can focus on something else for a while.. I think running at this time of year is so tough- I find the heat slows me down so much, whereas the autumn is lovely, so hopefully when you start back there will be some lovely sunny days but a bit cooler.

  2. Thanks Damien 🙂 you’ll be running again before you know it – and swimming and cycling are great summer activities anyway!

  3. Agree 100% with Clare – always so frustrating when you get injured, but in no time at all you’ll be right as rain, just take it easy and let the healing business work its magic… xx

  4. Never any fun to be injured. But it sounds like the kind of injury that can be reversed and prevented with a little bit of stretching and foam rolling. Hope you recover in time for some late-summer running.

Leave a comment